Forgot password

Not a Member?

Policy Forum on ACA, Ryan White, and Medicaid

On July 21, 2012, AAHIVM hosted a policy forum in conjunction with the International AIDS Conference (AIDS 2012) in Washington, DC entitled, "What's Ahead for HIV Providers with the Affordable Care Act, Ryan White and Medicaid." 

The Forum was designed to help HIV providers understand what lies ahead in the coming years, including the impact of the health reform law implementation and what HIV practitioners need to do to prepare for the coming changes. Government leaders and policy experts joined AAHIVM to discuss these important topics.

Watch the Full Forum HERE.



Richard Sorian
, Former Assistant Secretary for Public Affairs, Department of Health and Human Services (HHS)

Watch the introduction to the Forum with Richard Sorian, HERE.



Dr. Steve Cha
, Chief Medical Officer at the Center for Medicaid and CHIP Services, Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS)

Watch Dr. Steve Cha’s presentation, HERE.



Dr. Deborah Parham Hopson
, Associate Administrator for HIV/AIDS Bureau, Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA)

Watch Dr. Deborah Parham Hopson’s presentation, HERE.



Dr. Aaron Lopata
, White House Office of National AIDS Policy (ONAP)

Dr. Lopata is currently on detail from the Office of Management and Budget (OMB) to ONAP as a budget and policy analyst. 

Watch Dr. Aaron Lopata’s presentation, HERE.



Watch the Policy Experts Panel, HERE. 

HIV Policy Experts Panel:

Jeffrey Crowley, former Director of the White House Office of National AIDS Policy

Jennifer Kates, PhD, Vice President and Director of HIV Policy at the Kaiser Family Foundation

Dr. Donna Sweet, MD, MACP, AAHIVS, University of Kansas, School of Medicine, Chair of the AAHIVM Board of Directors

Amy Killelea, JD, Senior Manager, Health Care Access, National Alliance of State & Territorial AIDS Directors

Courtney Mulhern-Pearson, Director of State and Local Affairs, San Francisco AIDS Foundation

Moderator: Richard Sorian, Former Assistant Secretary for Public Affairs, HHS