The Request for Proposals (RFP) for the Academy’s Caesar Augusto Caceres Award for Innovations in HIV Prevention and Care for the year 2024 is now open. This competitive $25,000 award will be subjected to peer review and aims to promote impactful innovations developed in clinical settings to prevent, treat and care for individuals with or at risk for HIV and related conditions, such as, but not limited to, Hepatitis C testing and treatment; HIV and viral hepatitis testing and treatment; STI testing and prevention including condom and PrEP distribution; and harm reduction services. 

The award aligns with the broader goal of advancing health care through innovative models using applications of technology, and it is a novel opportunity for researchers, clinicians and other professionals in the field. We encourage interested parties to carefully review the guidelines and requirements outlined in the RFP to ensure that their proposals meet the necessary criteria. 

We look forward to receiving proposals that reflect creativity, innovation, and potential for impact. Please note that the deadline for submission is May 15, 2024.

For further information, please refer to the RFP document. 


Please review the 2024 Request for Proposals (RFP) for the Cesar Augusto Caceres Award for Innovations in HIV Prevention and Care here.


The awards committee has established the award criteria and an application process. To be considered for this award, a candidate must meet all the following eligibility criteria:

  • The practice can be defined as a private practice, a hospital or university-based clinic, a group practice, a community health center, an HMO, or another entity that provides direct clinical care.
  • The technology used in the practice must be accessible to other HIV practices to improve their care of patients.
  • To be considered for the award, candidates must submit a completed application form describing the technology used in their practice.
  • The selected candidates for the award will be acknowledged on AAHIVM’s website and featured in an article in the HIV Specialist magazine.
  • Award committee members are not eligible to apply. Applications are preferred from those not in leadership positions at the Academy, including those serving on the Board of Directors.


The Awards Committee agreed upon the following definition for medical technology: Medical technology encompasses a wide range of healthcare products that can be used to diagnose, assess, monitor, and treat disease. Such technologies are intended to improve the quality of healthcare delivered, and as a direct consequence, improve patient outcomes. Technology can positively impact education, communication, access to care, timeliness of diagnosis, treatment options, and length of stay.


The use of technology in medicine has been growing exponentially over the last decade and will continue to do so. Technologic advances will allow enhanced quality in patient care by improving communication between heath care providers, as well as between health care providers and patients, speeding the transmission of laboratory and radiologic data and even in direct patient care by allowing remote examination and monitoring of patients. Potential applications in HIV care are extensive and growing.

Given these advances, in the Fall of 2010, the Institute for Technology in Health Care (ITHC), a small foundation located in Washington, D.C., approached the Academy to gage interest in partnering with them to help acknowledge and encourage innovative technologies in HIV care. It is a fitting partnership, as ITHC is interested in stimulating innovative projects that use technology from any field to benefit health and the Academy’s members are the front line practitioners in HIV care.

The Academy accepted this challenge and established the AAHIVM/Institute for Technology in Health Care HIV Practice Award, now known as the Cesar Augusto Caceres Award for Innovations in HIV Prevention and Care. ITHC generously contributed the $25,000 unrestricted cash award, to be administered by the Academy.


To ensure the award applications are well vetted by a diverse and experience panel, the Academy has created an awards committee made up of Academy physicians, physician assistants, nurse practitioners, national board members and at least one non-AAHIVM member.

The awards committee includes:

Michael S. Argenyi, MD, MPH, MSW, AAHIVS
Addiction Medicine and Preventive Medicine

George Froehle, PA-C
Infectious Diseases
Hennepin Healthcare; Minneapolis, MN

Jack Hoda
HIV Services Manager
CrescentCare; New Orleans, LA


If you have additional questions about the award or the application process, please contact Angela Riley at angela@aahivm.org or 202-659-0699 ext. 16.


Click HERE to learn more about the 2023 award winner.

Click HERE to learn more about the 2022 award winner.

Click HERE to learn more about the 2021 award winner.

Click HERE to learn more about the 2020 award winner.

Click HERE to learn more about the 2019 award winner.

Click HERE to view the videos of past winners.

Click HERE to learn more about the 2018 award winner.

Click HERE to learn more about the 2017 award winner.